Am I doing something wrong?

Topics: Developer Forum
Dec 18, 2009 at 12:34 AM

I'm an experienced programmer, but for the life of me I can't get this library working. Can someone please steer me in the right direction?

I downloaded the source from http://open3270.codeplex.com/SourceControl/list/changesets, and am using the solution in the /trunk/ folder. I am trying to run the demo project, but the default server listed there (Library of Congress) is no longer valid, so I'm trying to use clemson.clemson.edu, port 23.

The problem is that after the line emulator.Connect("clemson.clemson.edu", 23, null), I can't get ANYTHING to work. Everything ends up in exceptions:

emulator.Refresh(true, 20000)
emulator.Dump()
string currentScreen = emulator.CurrentScreenXML.Dump()

All of these statements result in exceptions of varying messages. If I want to connect to clemson.clemson.edu, what are the basic steps I need to take? I just need something to get me started, and I can take it from there.

Thanks!

Dec 18, 2009 at 1:16 PM

I am pasting in my sample Connect method.  Hopefully this will give you some idea of what to do...

I am going to remove the impertinent lines specific to my setup

emulator = new TNEmulator();
emulator.Config.FastScreenMode = false;
emulator.Config.DefaultTimeout = 3000;
emulator.Config.TermType = "IBM-3278-2-E";
emulator.Config.HostPort = 23;
emulator.Config.HostName = "a.tn.ailife.com";
emulator.Config.ThrowExceptionOnLockedScreen = true;
emulator.Debug = false;
emulator.Config.HostLU = "PRODSYS";
emulator.Connect();
if (emulator.IsConnected())
{
 if (emulator.WaitForText(1, 0, "Signon to CICS on the MAINFRAME", 3000))
 {
     emulator.SendText("username");
     emulator.SendKey(true, "TAB");
     emulator.SendText("password");
     emulator.SendKey(true, "ENTER");
     if (emulator.WaitForText(1, 0, "TSS", 1000))
     {
  tempHolder = emulator.GetRow(0).Trim();